Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

August 3, 2011

Better than the cookie, I swear.

It’s my gf Becky Lui’s birthday!! And she missed out on quite a lot of treats because she spent 5 months in Spain! But she is finally home and I know that her favorite cookie is the Snickdoodle.. Now if you remember I did a Snickerdoodle post a couple months back, and it turned me into a fan! So for Becky’s birthday I decided to give the cupcake version a try. The cookie recipe was from Martha Stewart so I went back to her for the cupcake recipe and let me tell you…Martha really knows her stuff.

This recipe created the most gorgeous batter, I had to fight off the urge to take pictures of it! They puffed up nicely in the oven and made my entire apartment smell like cinnamon! No complaints here.. :) Martha paired them with a pretty basic Seven Minute Frosting, however, I was just not in the mood for it and it didn’t get very good reviews online.. So I went to my favorite Vanilla Buttercream and added a couple pinches of cinnamon to replicate the cinnamon-sugar dusting the cookies get before baking.

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes from my favorite ex-con, Martha Stewart <– Makes about 26-28 regular cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups cake flour (not self- rising)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1 3/4 cups sugar

4 large eggs, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups milk ( I used 1%)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line your cupcake tin with cute liners.

2. Sift/whisk together both flours, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Set aside.

3. Cream together sugar and butter in a large bowl.

3. Add the eggs, waiting until each is fully incorporated before adding the next.

6. Divide batter among your liners 3/4 full, I used a scoop because the batter was the perfect texture for it.

7. Bake for 17-20 minutes, rotating the tins halfway through.

8. Cool completely before frosting.

Vanilla Buttercream <–makes enough to spread. If you want to pipe it, make a double batch.

2 sticks (one cup)  unsalted butter, softened

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1. Beat up butter until fluffy.

2. Slowly add powdered sugar, making sure to stop and scrape the sides.

3. Mix in vanilla.

4. Add in cinnamon.

I decorated some with a 1M tip starting from the center working counter-clockwise to make a rose. :)

These cupcakes were damn good! I took 20 of them to work since Becky and I couldn’t eat them all.. ;) and they were gone in no time! I think the flavors of this cupcake will make a great addition to the fall for Thanksgiving! Or even closer, Labor Day in September! :)

Happy Birthday Beckyyyyy!

Enjoy!

<3

One Response to “Snickerdoodle Cupcakes”

  1. Becky said

    Delicious!!! Loved it and love you! Thanks for making them! One of the most thoughtful gifts ever! <3 Keep on baking!! (woot!)

Leave a Reply

