Lemon Burst Cookies

August 24, 2011

My favorite cookie at Paradise Bakery when I’m shopping at Pioneer Place Mall is the Lemon Zinger. It has amazing lemon flavor that isn’t too sweet and a little tart! About a year ago, I was thinking about replicating them but instead of a sugar cookie texture, making it more cakey. Well I found a recipe on one of my favorite blogs, Brown Eyed Baker, and I thought I’d try them out. Michelle is great, and every recipe I’ve tried of hers has come out amazing. Why would these cookies be any different? They weren’t.

These lemon delights are somewhat cake-like and a little chewy but very soft. They are perfect when the bottoms are hardly brown and I was told today that they are like a powdered sugar covered lemon donut! They are perfect in the hot weather we are currently experiencing in Portland (finally!) and would be excellent at a baby shower or wedding shower too. Hell, these cookies are good anytime!  They seem to be my coworkers favorite cookie I bring in. I made a double batch a couple months ago and they were gone in 12 minutes!

It seems like it has been forever since I blogged — I am sorry! It has been one thing after another finally ending with the removal of all four of my wisdom teeth last week…………. :( And I was a swollen chipmunk for quite a few days but I’m finally back and feeling good! :) And now I am super busy before my trip to Europe in like 12 days! I am preparing for an abundant amount of rolls, cheese, pretzels, and espresso…… :)

Lemon Burst Cookies adapted slightly from Michelle

1 lemon cake mix ( I used Betty Crocker )

2 eggs

1/3 cup vegetable/canola oil

Zest of 2 lemons

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, whisk cake mix to remove lumps.

3. Stir in eggs, oil, zest, juice, vanilla with a wooden spoon until well blended.

4. Using a cookie scoop or a couple of spoons scoop 2 tablespoons  of batter into a small bowl that has your powdered sugar. Coat the cookie and place it on your cookie sheet. Repeat with remaining batter.

5. Bake for 8-10 minutes or centers are set. Cool on wire racks.

I never use cake mix for cakes.. ever. But the cake mix in this recipe is perfect! Lovelovelove them!

Enjoy!

<3

One Response to “Lemon Burst Cookies”

  1. done07 said

    Love your blog, love your pics. Someday will you make decadent low fat/low carb treats? Can you disprove the concept of no fat=no flavor? Bodybuilders all over the world will LOVE you!

    ;) Daphne

Leave a Reply

