Mama Thornton’s Peach Pie

September 3, 2011

Before my niece Olivia Sue started 1st grade, she came over to stay the night with me (her cool aunt) and we felt the need to bake…. :) We had some lovely fresh peaches from the market and some leftover lemons from my Lemon Burst Cookies so we decided to not only make one dessert, but two! Olivia’s mom, Natasha, is pretty much the pie maker in the family. My Granny passed down all of her recipes down to her but…. :) I tasted a slice of her peach pie last weekend and decided it was time to make my own…with Olivia’s help of course.

One of my favorite shows from the Food Network is Dessert First with Chef Anne Thornton, it’s a show based all on desserts and no “real food.” So naturally, it’s one of my favorites even though I don’t even really care for Chef Anne…she bugs me. I should have her show… just sayin’. She recently had a show based on pies and I thought the peach sounded pretty tempting. My culinary-student-friend Whitney also just made this pie and loved it so I thought I’d give it a try too.

Since I have Olivia helping me in the kitchen I have someone to crack the eggs, open the fridge, bag up the garbage, but most importantly she is learning how to read and starting 1st grade next week I thought I’d give her some practice. She read the entire recipe to me as well as all of the directions for the pie, as well as our next blog post, lemon bars. It was like having a cook book on tape! I loved it!! And she did a great job sounding out all the words she didn’t know like confectioners, and zest. :) Sooo proud.

We made our own pie crust using Chef Anne’s recipe but fill free to use a store bought crust if you’re short on chilling time. Also, if peaches aren’t in season when you have a craving, use frozen peaches, just thaw them first!

Mama Thornton’s Peach Pie

Pie Crust:

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for board and rolling pin

2 tablespoons sugar (I like mine a little sweeter so I used 3)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chilled unsalted butter (2 sticks) ***

4 tablespoons ice water

***Note: You can cut up your butter into 1/2 inch cubes or do what I did..Pop the butter into the freezer for about 15 minutes before using and the grate it with a cheese grater (the biggest holes) I find this way easier because I don’t have a food processor to make the crust.

1. In a food processor or a bowl and pastry cutter/forks combine flour, sugar, salt and butter untilĀ  the mixture resembles sand.

2. Add the water until the mixture rolls itself into a little ball. *If the mixture is too dry, add a few drops of water at a time.

3. Gather dough into a ball and divide in half.

4. Shape each half into a disk and wrap with plastic wrap to refridgerate.

5. Chill at least 30 minutes and up to a few days.

Pie Filling:

10 ripe but slightly firm peaches

juice of one lemon

1/2 teaspoon almond extract (I hate almond extract. I used vanilla.)

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup sugar **Depending on the sweetness of your peaches you can up the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups.

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon (a pinch) ground nutmeg (I used only cinnamon.)

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces

1 egg

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees and get out a cookie sheet and pie plate (in case of overflow which is hard to get out of the bottom of the oven!)

2. Peel and cut peaches into 1/4 inch pieces. (You should have about 7 cups)

3. Toss with lemon juice and vanilla/almond extract in a large bowl.

4. Whisk flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt in another small bowl any to get out lumps.

5. Stir the flour mixture in with the peaches and mix to combine.

6. Get crust out of the fridge and roll out on counter top/cutting board with floured surface and rolling pin. Roll into about a 12 inch circle so you have enough to come up the sides of the pie plate.

7. Roll out second disk and cut into long strips to prepare making a lattice crust.

8. Pour peach mixture into pie plate and scatter butter pieces over top.

9. Cover/weave lattice crust.

10. Brush with beaten egg and crimp edges.

11. Bake for 10 minutes at 450 and then reduce to 350 for remaining 50 minutes.

* If your crust is browning too fast you can cover it with foil.

Let rest for 30 minutes before serving.

This pie was very good. I served mine with a little bite rather than soggy. I likedĀ  the sweetness of the crust as well as ratio of liquid juiciness to peaches. It baked up beautifully. A lot of people prefer to serve warm pie with ice cream “a la mode” however I for some reason, love chilled pie and think it tastes much better the next day!

No matter how you serve it, you’ll love it. :)

I am off to Europe for a much needed future-home search and time with my love but will be back blogging shortly with some Luscious Lemon Bars! :)

<3

Isn’t she adorable???? OMG :)

3 Responses to “Mama Thornton’s Peach Pie”

  1. Anonymous said

    its also delicious the next week, so i made 2 and decided i would just work out really hard once peach season is over :)

  2. Love your narrative, it reads like a novel! ;)

  3. Michelle D said

    i love the idea with the butter and cheese grater. I don’t do pies often, but thats a great idea!

Leave a Reply

