Triple Chocolate Oreo Chunk Cookies

November 21, 2011

When it comes to cookies, I usually think the simpler, the better. But when you come home from Europe and your Dad has done a Costco run for you and there is a giant box of Oreos on your counter….you find something to do with them.

And in this case, I made cookies out of cookies. It sounds strange, and when I first saw this recipe on Brown Eyed Baker I thought they would be too rich…but these cookies are the perfect richness. I would almost call them a diet cookie, because they are too rich to have more than two at a time, which is rare for me, because usually all I want to do is eat the whole batch…our double batch.. ;) I actually did a big baker fail and didn’t read that Michelle on Brown Eyed Baker made giant cookies with this recipe and she said it made only 18 so I doubled it and ended up with about 7 dozen cookies! Ha! Needless to say just about everyone I know got to try these, including the whole back row in my Statistics class.. Don’t judge me, it was late at night when I started these and before I combined my wet and dry I had this “wait a minute..” moment, and by then it was too late, so I was up for quite a while, baking sheet after sheet of cookies.. Thank goodness they turned out so tasty!

These would be a great addition to your Holiday cookie baking and everybody would be very pleased if you made them for Thanksgiving this week. Also, please don’t be scared about Oreo being baked in your cookie, because what the Oreo actually does is soften up and become cake-like and the creme filling kind of spreads and fits perfectly inside the cookie.

Triple Chocolate Oreo Chunk Cookies <– makes 3 1/2 dozen

 

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup white chocolate chips or chopped white chocolate
1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips or chopped semi sweet chocolate
1 cup chopped Oreo cookies

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and line your cookie sheet with parchment or a silicone pad. (If you don’t have one, ask for one for Christmas!)

2. In a medium bowl, sift/whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream together your sugars and butter until light and fluffy.

4. Beat in the eggs, one at a time until fully combined. Add in the vanilla.

5. A little at a time, add the flour mixture to your wet mixture.

6. Stir in the chocolate chips and Oreos. (My batter was pretty stiff!)

7. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto your cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 8-10 minutes.

It’s very important not to overbake these. Just because they cookies are already brown doesn’t mean you don’t know when to take them out. Take them out between 8-10 and then let them rest on the cookie sheet for another 3-5 minutes. Then transfer to a cooling rack (or into your mouth!)

These were great after being stored in a airtight container too, so if you make them and deliver them the next day or the day after that, they’ll be even better. I liked mine with a glass of milk, but they would be nearly sinful with a mug of hot cocoa! :) PS I bought Starbucks Salted Caramel Hot Cocoa mix at Safeway and it is sooooooooooo good!

Enjoy!

<3

One Response to “Triple Chocolate Oreo Chunk Cookies”

  1. Natasha Park said

    Me and mom want to know where is ours????

Leave a Reply

