Vanilla Chocolate Kisses

November 28, 2011

They may be small, but that just means you can eat more of them…right??

I found a recipe called Pink Chocolate Filled Kisses on Bakers Royale (fantastic-blog, btw) and I wanted to alter the filling but kept the cookie recipe. I decided to make them for for my sister’s baby shower, (why is it called a baby shower anyway?) They are small, and not complex in flavors, I mean… vanilla and chocolate aren’t exactly what I would call “out there.” And they were perfect! The kids loved them, especially my niece Rosie who even ate the one my Mom was saving for later! The texture is hard to describe and I wasn’t sure what exactly I was getting into when I made them. They are soft and crumbly but aren’t damp to the touch (like a whoopie pie would be.) They crumble in your mouth while melting at the same time. Ha! Picture that! I don’t really drink tea, I should but I don’t, but I would say that these would be perfect for tea time. :)

They have SUPER simple ingrediants and are very easy to make. I know I’ll be making these for my Christmas cookie plates and for all sorts of things after that. On Bakers Royale she tinted them pink for breast cancer awareness, which is fantastic. However, I was making these for a baby shower and my sister happens to dislike pink and love purple, but you can do whatever you like. The dough is only a few ingredients and you can whip them up in a flash.

Vanilla Chocolate Kisses <–makes about 25 1/2 inch cookies

1 cup or 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

4 drops food coloring or a few tooth pick swipes of gel food coloring, which is what I used. IF you are one of those people who don’t like artificial color, leave it out.

½ teaspoon salt

2 cups all-purpose flour

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheet with a silicone pad or parchment.

2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars.

3. Add food coloring and vanilla until combined.

4. Beat in the flour on low until just combined.

5. THAT’S IT! So now place about a teaspoon of dough into your palms and roll into balls. Place on the cookie sheet about an inch apart (they don’t really grow in width too much.) Bake for 8-10 minutes or until bottoms are slightly golden. Place on wire rack to cool.

For my filling I decided to make the same frosting as I do for my “Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake but I only made 1/4 of the recipe calls for.

To assemble, match up 2 cookies of the same size, (shouldn’t they all be the same? oops.) And spread with 1/2 teaspoon of frosting and sandwich the two together.

These would also be great with another flavoring like almond, but I don’t like almond. -_-

Anyways, whip up a batch for your next….whatever and enjoy!

<3

One Response to “Vanilla Chocolate Kisses”

  1. These are so cute! So round and cute!

Leave a Reply

