Apple Cinnamon Loaf

January 20, 2012

Loaf…….my new favorite word. Is this a cake? A bread? I don’t know… a mix of both? But because I am obsessed with my new loaf pan, I will just call it loaf. I would say it is a mix of a bread and a cake, but the flavor is what matters. I warned you that there would be plenty of loafs blogged, and this is the first of those many. If you have any suggestions, let me know. :)

Portland got our first “snow storm” this week, and by snow storm, I mean 2 inches…tops. Oh well, I never get my hopes up anymore, Portland just loves the rain too much to let snow into the picture. At least I got a 2 hour late start at PSU because of it and I can honestly say I enjoyed missing a class. :) Anyway, I am at the end of Week 2 of Winter Term, and somehow I am working both days this weekend and I decided that I should have some nice treat to eat with my coffee in the morning…insert loaf here. :)

This “loaf” is very good. The apple component is applesauce, and total there are only ten ingredients. The recipe is adapted from McCormick’s, but I altered it slightly. You can whip this up in five minutes, which really means that you can have warm bread under an hour! Ready, go!

Apple Cinnamon Loaf <– makes one 9×5 loaf pan

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons ground cinnamon (this makes it very cinnamonie, if you want to scale back, fine)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chunky applesauce (if you don’t have chunky, NBD*)

1 cup packed brown sugar

2/3 cup milk

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons canola/veggie oil

1 cup chopped walnuts, divided, optional (I was out of walnuts, oops.)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray your loaf pan, I use Pam with flour.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together first 4 ingredients.

3. In a medium bowl, whisk together next 6 ingredients until smooth.

4. Stir your wet mixture into your dry until just combined and stir in about 2/3 of the walnuts.

5. Spread evenly in pan and top with remaining 1/3 walnuts.

6. Bake until toothpick comes out clean, about 50-55 minutes.

Cool in pan for 5-10 minutes before loosening around the edges, turning out the cake and cooling the rest of the way (or eating it right away, do your thing!)

I recommend this loaf for breakfast, an afternoon snack, and with tea or coffee. It would also be yummy with a basic glaze.. :) hmm… Also, don’t feel too bad about eating this, because the amount of oil is only 2 tablespoons, and this is due to the use of applesauce! Yay!

Enjoy!

<3

PS Happy Name Day Fabian! :)

One Response to “Apple Cinnamon Loaf”

  1. Fabian said

    Thanks!!!!

Leave a Reply

