Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 6, 2011


Mmm. America’s favorite cookie. And with all the popularity that the chocolate chip cookie has, it’s still hard to find one with the right balance of crispy/chewy that I’m looking for. I also am one of the few people that enjoys a cookie that is not entirely full of chocolate chips.. (I know, I know..weird) But if I wanted all that chocolate I’d made fudge. Right?

After a billion recipes, I think I’ve found my favorite. There are a few key secrets (not really secrets) that go into a good chewy cookie. Last year I tried this recipe on my Global Environmental Change class of 60 students and got nothing but positive feedback. :) Originally I was scheduled to work tonight, but the super bowl caused us to be slow…so I got to come home, study for my marketing exam, and bake… :)

Tip: Make sure you read the entire recipe and directions BEFORE you start. This will help avoid last minute runs to the store or googling online what it means to “cream sugar and butter” if you know what I mean.

Chewy Chocolate Chippers set oven to 325 degrees, bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter, melted (1 1/2 sticks)

1 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 egg

1 egg yolk

chocolate chips, however many you’d like

*You can melt your butter in the microwave but be careful, it may bubble and make a mess. Orrr you can melt in on the stovetop in a small saucepan or pot.

1. Sift or whisk your flour, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl, set aside.

2. Cream your COOLED melted butter with your two sugars until light and creamy in a large bowl. I did this by hand with a good ole’ wooden spoon, or you can do so with a mixer.

3. Blend in the egg and egg yolk, one at a time. Stir in the vanilla.

4. Stir in about 1/4 of the flour mixture at a time until fully combined. This should be done with a wooden spoon. <–in my opinion :)

5. Stir in your chocolate chips until you get the right ratio. I recommend 1 1/2 cups.

6. Place your bowl of goodness into the refrigerator!!! This will allow the batter to set and not spread out too much while baking. Refrigerate for 15-20 minutes.

7. Take the bowl out and place rounded tablespoons of dough onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. If you have never used parchment paper, now is the time to start. It’s fairly inexpensive and it saves you from greasing the sheets and makes clean up much easier! (my mom is now converted, as of Christmas cookie baking 2010) Another gadget to help your cookies all turn out the same size is this.

8. Cool your cookies on a wire rack or on your baking sheet. Serve warm with a glass of cold milk! Mmm…


Up next I’ll be doing delicious caramel buttercream frosting, be sure to check back! :)

One Response to “Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Katarina Colaco said

    These are bomb. Nothing is worse then biting into a chocolate chip cookie that is hard and crispy. Yuck. I’m gonna try and call you right now. I feel like we haven’t talked for a while :( I miss you.

Leave a Reply

