Chicken Tortilla Soup

March 31, 2011

Uh……YUM.

Chicken Tortilla Soup is one of my favorite soups! Whenever I see it on a menu I order a cup. I hadn’t really thought of making my own until recently when I have had incredible luck with other soups and chowders. I come from somewhat of a Hispanic background, my Dad is half Mexican and half Korean. Needless to say Mexican food was a real staple in our home and I have brought that into my own home as I have gotten older.

Spring term just started for me so my schedule has changed quite a bit. I also apologize for my hiatus from blogging, I was in Maui… :) So anyway, I have this two hour break after Modern before my boyfriend gets home from one of his classes and it’s time for lunch. Typically I have like a twenty minute break, so I’m pretty excited that I can spend some extra time on lunch….or dessert. :) I started looking through recipes for Chicken Tortilla Soup but decided to come up with my own because none of them pleased me. Waaah. <–Yes, my Snooki whine.

So this soup is hearty enough to make for the meal but is light enough to serve a cup before your main course it could certainly work for both! Aaaand I have a confession to make…my soup contains no tortillas unless you choose to top it with some… Oops. I’m sorry but soggy tortillas to thicken soup? I’ll pass. The topping choices are endless, sour cream, avocado, tortilla strips/chips, tomatoes, fresh cilantro, etc. It’s a very simple soup, the prep time is the only time consuming part.

Chicken Tortilla Soup serves 4-6

1 tablespoon olive oil

3 cloves of garlic, minced <–I hate big garlic pieces in my food so I always mince mine.

1 1/2 onions, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, red or yellow, chopped

1/2 carrot, chopped

1 jalapeno, chopped finely

2 skinless boneless chicken breasts, you can use the tenders if you want

3 tomatoes, chopped

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

4 cups chicken stock

1 cup corn, frozen or canned & drained <–I use the organic white frozen corn from Costco, mmm.

1/2 can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 tablespoons tomato paste

Ready? Here we go..

1. Heat oil in a large pot or dutch oven over medium heat. Add the onion, carrot, peppers and garlic until soft, stirring occasionally.

2. Add tomatoes, chicken, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, and stock. Bring to boil, reduce to simmer.

3. After about 15 minutes, pull out the chicken and shred with two forks or a knife or whatever.

4. Return it to the pot and add the tomato paste, black beans and corn, stir to combine.

5. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring every 8 or so.

Serve with your toppings! :)

It was sooooooooooooo good. And if you add a couple slices of fresh avocado on the top…yum! I will probably make this again next week, no joke…it’s that good.

PS Maui was aaaaamazing.

One Response to “Chicken Tortilla Soup”

  1. Fabian said

    LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

