Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream

April 22, 2011

Ahhh… Yes. My favorite fruit, infused into a buttercream! I was planning on making vanilla buttercream and then I looked in the fridge and saw two pints of strawberries… :) I could have made a strawberry cupcake too, but there are too many times that I forfeit vanilla for something eh…more exciting. I don’t give the sweet taste of vanilla enough credit. But who does?? A few months back I took my niece Olivia to Cool Moon Ice Cream and when she said she wanted vanilla, I gave her the “Really Livvie? Don’t you want chocolate or banana or strawberry?” when I shouldn’t have questioned her. :-/ I guess that means that she appreciates the simpler things, right? So anyway. Sticking with the vanilla cake, but strawberry buttercream sounded too good to pass up! :)

Oh and by the way…the pretty light pink in the frosting is natural, no food coloring needed!

Mmm, sooooooooo good! They are nice and spring-like! Perfect for Easter too.. :) What a coincidence! The vanilla batter is pretty simple and standard, it’s sweet and sugary, just like a plain cake should be!

Vanilla Cupcakes makes 12 regular, 6 jumbo, or 42 minis <–if you have the patience, I rarely do.

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1 egg yolk

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup veggie or canola oil (I use canola because it’s slightly better for you, believe me..I’m a health major)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract :)

1/2 sour cream

1. Set oven to 350 degrees, line your cupcake pan with some cute liners.

2. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a medium bowl and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat the egg and yolk with sugar until thickened with a mixer, about 2 minutes.

4. On low, mix in the oil and vanilla until blended. Mix in the sour cream until there are no more white streaks. On low, start to add the flour mixture and beat it up nice and fluffy.

5. It’s ready, divide it among your cupcake pans and baking for 20ish minutes, until the toothpick comes out clean.

Strawberry Buttercream makes the perfect amount to pipe with a couple of spoonfuls left over to treat yourself ;)

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 pound of powdered sugar

1/4 cup strawberry puree

—–>Prep your strawberries, rinse, hull, chop. Add to blender or food processor, puree. I measured after I pureed.

1. Beat up your butter until fluffy with your mixer.

2. Add the sugar, a little at a time.

3. Add the vanilla.

4. Add the strawberry puree.

—-> If it isn’t stiff enough to pipe, add more sugar.

To decorate, I used a 1M tip, started in the center of the cupcake, and worked clockwise until the cupcake was covered. It resembles a rose…right? :) If you’re in love with roses or something, this is a pretty cool tutorial for a rose covered cake.. Anyway, you can make them more “Easter-like” and add some cute spring sprinkles, a little strawberry and mint leaf? The options are endless..not really, but you get what I mean.

2 Responses to “Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream”

  1. […] because I have them and they happen to be my favorite.. In case you didn’t see my Strawberry Buttercream recipe, I had some berries I needed to use up. Feel free to add whatever you’d like! Vanilla, […]

  2. […] Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Buttercream […]

Leave a Reply

