Cakey Chocolate Chip Cookies

May 11, 2011

Okay, if you don’t own the Martha Stewart Cookie Book yet (or the e-book, go me!) you need to get it! I can’t even begin to tell you how many delicious cookie recipes there are, aaand they are organized by texture! Yesss..Amazing.

The first cookies I made from the book were these delicious Cakey Chocolate Chip Cookies. And you all know I have a favorite recipe already…but these are seriously too freaking good. They have lower amounts of sugar and butter which gives them a fluffy cakey texture. It makes them feel lighter than a typical chocolate chip cookie. Warning, they feel so light that you feel like you can eat ten instead of five!

I think you should try them, they’d be great for your afternoon tea, or whatever you do in the afternoon! ;) I made a batch and took some to my lovely favorites in ballet <–Eve & MANdrew, made another batch and took them in to work for my boys at 24 Hour Fitness<–PBP, ChaoChao, Evs, & Dusty and they loved them too! Then again, what don’t they like? They’re boys. I made yet another batch to take to my jazz dance friends. Didn’t want them to feel left out! Shout out to Tai! :)

They keep well, after mine cooled I slipped them into a freezer ziptop bag before taking them to work.

Cakey Chocolate Chip Cookies, courtesy of my idol, Martha Stewart –> makes about 3 dozen

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 3/4 sticks unsalted butter, softened <–14 tablespoons

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 1/2-2 cups chocolate chips, whatever kind you’d like. I used half milk chocolate & half semi-sweet.

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and prepare your baking sheets with a silpad or parchment paper.

2. In a small bowl, whisk your flour and baking soda together, set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream your butter with both sugars until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.

4. Reduce speed and add the salt, vanilla, and eggs, one at a time.

5. Add flour mixture, a little at a time until just combined. aka don’t overmix.

6. Stir in your chocolate chips.  Batter is done! :)

I used a cookie scoop and put them about 2 inches apart.

Bake until edges are golden, 10-12 minutes. I rotated the cookie sheet half way through. When you pull them out of the oven allow them to cool on the sheet for like a minute before transferring them to a cooling rack.

Serve with milk. :) Or coffee.

PS my boyfriend said they were good for breakfast. :)

Leave a Reply

