Snickerdoodles

May 12, 2011

I’ll be the first to tell you that I don’t even like Snickerdoodles. My mom (Shirl the Pearl) made them while I was a kid and of course I ate them, but I would have never asked for them over any others. A few years ago when Fabian came to visit me during Christmas break he had the chance to try them and really liked them.

Looking at the Martha Stewart Cookie Book I started to rethink my harsh judgment against them. What drew me to the recipe specifically was the amount of ingredients and the fact that all of them are always in my kitchen! No last minute run to the store to grab whatever is missing, it’s stuff I already have! Yay! :)

I had exactly one hour from the moment Fabian left our apartment to the time I had to be in Jazz and I was having this crazy “in love” moment which is a great excuse to bake! Snickerdoodle time! I made half the recipe listed below and they turned out perfect. :)

Snickerdoodles, courtesy of the Queen of Cookies, Martha Stewart

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1 cups (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
– – –
2 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and get your baking sheets ready.

2. Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt in a small bowl and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

4. Beat in the eggs, one at a time.

5. Reduce speed to low and gradually add flour mixture.

6. Mix the 2 tablespoons sugar and the 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon in a small bowl.

7. Shape your dough into 1 3/4 inch balls with your hands. (I used a scoop to get the right amount every time.)

8. Roll the ball into the cinnamon sugar mixture to coat all sides.

9. Space them about 2-3 inches apart on baking sheet and bake for 12-15 minutes. I rotated my cookie sheets halfway through to ensure even baking. Let them cool on the cookie sheets.

Now let me tell you, I am now a fan of Snickerdoodles. Maybe I was too young to appreciate the simple flavors of the buttery cookie and the sweet and light cinnamon coating, but this recipe has definitely become a staple that I will make again and again!

Cookies make people really happy. Are they hard to make? No..but I don’t think that many people get how simple it is to make up a batch. Whenever I bring cookies to my friends and coworkers they get so excited it’s as if they haven’t had a cookie for 10 years! Hahaha. So make a batch and take them to the people you care about! :)

2 Responses to “Snickerdoodles”

  1. Thanks for posting this cool article!

  2. shamtest said

    I can’t seem to access this site from my iphone!!

Leave a Reply

