Coconut Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream

June 24, 2011

Let me start out by saying that coconut anything is never my favorite, but when I bit into these cupcakes to test them I literally said “wow” outloud to myself. They are incredible. The coconut flavor is just enough without being overwhelming. I was going to pair them with a white chocolate buttercream but I was out of white chocolate…pff. So that will come another day! :) And I realized that I have not done a vanilla buttercream on the blog yet, which is pretty crazy. I’ve gotten many compliments on this icing, it isn’t too sweet and the texture is not anything like butter!

I also decided to toast some coconut for the top for texture, taste,  and to make them look super chic. ;)

Coconut Cupcakes <–makes 24 regular

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (12 tablespoons)

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 eggs, large

2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3/4 cup sour cream (I used low-fat)

1 cup lightly packed sweetened flaked coconut (I chopped mine even smaller because the long strings are not appetizing to me)

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line your muffin tin with some cute liners :)

2. In a medium bowl, whisk or sift your flour, cinnamon, salt and baking soda. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat your butter on medium speed with your mixer. Add sugar and cream together.

4. Add eggs one at a time, waiting until each is fully incorporated before adding the next. Add vanilla.

5. Reduce speed to low, and alternately add sour cream and flour mixture until batter is smooth and thick.

6. Add in your chopped coconut.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool on wire rack.

Vanilla Buttercream <–makes enough to smear like I did. If you want to pipe it, make a double batch.

2 sticks (one cup)  unsalted butter, softened

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1. Beat up butter until fluffy.

2. Slowly add powdered sugar, making sure to stop and scrape the sides.

3. Mix in vanilla.

Decorating:

If you want toast coconut for the top (it really makes a difference) spread out coconut on a baking sheet and place into a 325 degree oven, stirring once or twice until it’s golden brown. You have to keep an eye on it, nobody likes burnt coconut!

You can coat the entire top with coconut or you can place coconut onto a place and roll the sides of the cupcake in it to do what I did. :)

PS These would be great for summer barbeques and even the 4th of July! :)

Up next will be Chocolate Cupcakes filled with Peanut Butter Mousse topped with Chocolate Ganache & whatever I decide to make myself for my upcoming 21st birthday! So check back! :)

Enjoy! <3

PPS These would be great for summer barbeques and the 4th of July!

3 Responses to “Coconut Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream”

  1. mcannici14 said

    They sound so yummy. I am going to have to try making them. You should put your macaroons on here to!! AMAZING!!!

  2. Sasha said

    These look totally delightful! i am a huggeee coconut fan and your cupcakes are so pretty, im very tempted indeed to try them out :)

Leave a Reply

