Easy Chocolate Crinkles

November 29, 2011

Yup. Easy.

These little bebes are super easy. You can definitely make them from scratch..however this recipe uses a cake mix in place of all your dry ingredients. And you know how I feel about cake mixes, I don’t like them for cake, but I love them for cookies, and even for cake pops they’re fine. I use a lemon cake mix in my Lemon Burst Cookies and like those, these chocolate crinkles come out chewy and fluffy. Not to mention, they are are delicious. I started bringing these into work over a year ago and everybody loves them. One of my coworkers, Amanda, even says that they “taste like Christmas.” I’m not exactly sure what she means by that, but what I do know is that I love Christmas, so it must be a good thing..right?

So yesterday was the start of “dead week” at Portland State and I am now in the middle of prepping for five finals next week.. And whenever I should be studying or doing homework, I put it off by baking. This is seriously something I started  without even noticing when I was like ten. I would promise myself/my mom that I’d sit on the floor of the kitchen and do homework while my cookies were in the oven, but that never worked out..I’d end up going through my mom’s cookbooks or staring at my cookies until they were done. And this really hasn’t changed, minus the fact that I don’t live at home anymore and my refrigerator isn’t in the right spot to lean up against as I peer into the oven..but you get the point.

Make these cookies with kids! Maybe you don’t have kids, (I don’t) but you can borrow somebody else’s right? Or, if your boyfriend acts like a child, make him help you. ;)  They are perfect because you can control a cake mix pretty well, (like your niece Olivia didn’t put in 2 extra teaspoons of baking soda while you weren’t looking) and then after the batter is finished, you take a small amount, roll it into a ball, and coat it with powdered sugar! Doesn’t that sound so fun? Ha! But it really is, even if you end up doing it all by yourself.

So the powdered sugar is what makes this cookie “crinkle.” Rolling the dough into little balls and giving them a toss in a bowl of powdered sugar and when you bake them they spread out and it creates a beautiful cookie. People will be absolutely smitten with the look and once they taste one they’ll love you forever. (Not really. You can’t blame me if you make them for your boyfriend and he ends up dumping you.)

Chocolate Crinkles <– Makes about 30 1 1/2 inch cookies

1 Chocolate Cake Mix- any brand or 1 chocolate flavor, I recently used Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate and it was perfect.

1/3 veggie/canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract, optional

2 eggs

powdered sugar for coating

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees and prep a cookie sheet with parchment or silicone pad.

2. Empty your cake mix into a large bowl and use a wooden spoon to mix in the oil and eggs until well combined.

3. Chill your batter for about 15 minutes in the fridge.

4. Shape dough into 1 inch balls and toss with powdered sugar.

5. Space them out 2 inches apart and bake for 9-11 minutes. Cool for 1-2 minutes on cookie sheet before transferring them to a cooling rack with something underneath to catch the powdered sugar.

I’ve gotten some questions about how to tell if they’re done since they are already brown.. If you bake them at the temperature I’ve provided and with the approximate size then follow the time listed as well, they’ll be fine. If you’re still super nervous allow them to cool on the cookie sheet and try one once  they’re cool to the touch.

Also, if you are super short on time, you can skip the chilling time. The quick chill in the fridge allows for easier handling as well as keeps them a little smaller as they bake and doesn’t allow them to spread out as much. No big deal, or as I say, NBD.

Best served next to a cozy fire with a blanket around your shoulders, a warm cup of cocoa, and the company of your family and dog. :)

I will definitely add these to my Christmas cookie trays, they are too good to pass up!

Do you have a favorite cookie during the holidays??

<3

Leave a Reply

